Iraq Excluded From New Travel Ban List. Check Other Changes For US Visas

The second version of travel ban is here. President Donald Trump has signed it and the major change is eliminating Iraq from the list of countries. It may be due to diplomatic reason as the country is fighting with Islamic State militants group of Syria.

The other six Muslim-majority countries in the ban list are Yemen, Sudan, Syria, Iran, Somalia and Libya. Citizens of these countries will be blocked from obtaining visas for at least 90 days.

The new travel ban executive order will be effective from March 16 and it will not bar those citizens of the six countries who have valid visas to enter the United States. This mean whose visas were revoked with the original order issued in January too will be allowed.

The new ban will also not be valid to legal US permanent residents.

Attorney General Jeff Sessions said, “We cannot compromise our nation’s security by allowing visitors entry when their own governments are unable or unwilling to provide the information we need to vet them responsibly, or when those governments actively support terrorism.”

The new order suspends admission of refugees for 120 days from entering the US.

Trump signed the new executive order on Monday in the Oval Office. The signing was scheduled for last week but later delayed to avoid cutting into positive coverage of his joint address to Congress.